Elsewhere


Welcome back to blogging everyone! I’m so looking forward to reading your blogs.  Don’t forget to include a connection (use a couple of the sentence starters to help if you need them).  So this week, I would like you to tell me the name of the book you’re reading at home, and what point of view it is from. Then go ahead and write your blog.

The book I’ve been reading this week is called Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin.  I knew from the back of the book that the main character dies but it was totally shocking to read the introduction from the point of view of her dog.  We find out is that Lizzie has died and her dog Lucy is missing her as are her parents and brother. Then the story switches over to Liz’s point of view so I am thinking that this is book is written in third person omniscient since the narrator seems to know what all the characters are thinking and doing.

Anyway, back to the story:  Liz finds herself on a boat with a girl named Thandi.  Neither of them can remember how they got there, and Liz is unsure why her head is shaved with only a few tufts coming out of it.  Thandi has a hole in the back of her neck that she doesn’t know how it got there either.   I haven’t got much further than that but am looking forward to finding out what happened to these girls. Have you figured out what happened to Liz? I’m suspecting she died of some type of cancer.  And this brings me to my connection.

About 4 years ago, my dad was diagnosed with bladder cancer.  He had surgery to remove the cancer cells, and then months of treatment and has recovered.  He had a scare again just last year but it turned out to be nothing.  But everytime he isn’t feeling well, or when the doctors want to run tests, all of us in my family get a little worried.  I hate the helpless feeling of not being able to do anything to stop this disease.  I wonder if Liz’s family felt the same way.  Liz seemed proud of her tufts of hair and I think that is because she was proud that she was beating the cancer–perhaps she was in remission and I know how great it is to say that my dad has beat cancer (for now at least).  I guess the other thing you might want to know about this situation is how I can be so positive about it now–the only thing I can tell you is that I always had faith in God that He had the situation under control.  And we as a family just keep trusting Him that it’s going to turn out alright.

So how about you? What are you reading this week? Don’t forget to include the point of view. Remember that you can choose to do the book you’re reading or “Slave Dancer”. Hoping to see some really great connections.

Happy blogging!

Miss Esselink

Posted on January 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment