Home Invasion and Lies

Welcome back to another week of blogging everyone!

I was looking for something to read this week and remembered that I had taken Zach’s Lie by Roland Smith out of the library.  It starts off with the whole family on a plane talking about how they had to change names.  The main character is a boy named Jack Osborne who is now called Zach.  Then the story starts to come out.  Chapter 2 starts off with a bang, “Men broke into our house last night.  I’m racking my brain wondering if there was anything I could have done to stop them.” The whole family was taped up with duct tape and the mom was required to say, “They’ll kill us if you talk” when the dad called.  Wow! Never has that happen to me–so I kept on reading.  Basically, there is some mix up between the DEA (Drug Enforcement Agency in the USA) and Jack’s dad.  Jack and his family have no idea how their dad could be mixed up with drugs but that’s the way thing seem to be.  To keep everyone safe, Jack, his mom and his sister Joanne (now called Wanda), are moved into protective custody with a couple whom they are to call Auntie Doris and Uncle Don.  The family is required to change their appearance–dye their hair, and eye colour.

Which brings me to my connection this week.  Even though the whole family doesn’t wear glasses, they were all required to wear contacts.  Jack wasn’t used to having “foreign objects near his face and blinked everytime the contact came in a for a landing.” (Ooo a  metaphor — I’ll give a prize on Monday to the first person that tells me what two things are being compared).  I have worn glasses since grade 2 and my eyes have an astigmatism which used to mean I couldn’t wear contacts.  But, when they came out with new contacts,

I was soooo excited to try them.  They were difficult to put in (at first) so I can totally sympathize with Jack.  It took me a long time before I wouldn’t blink every time.  And unfortunately, even though I really wanted them to work, I just couldn’t see as well with them so I went back to glasses. I guess sometimes things aren’t always as we expect them to be. Which coincidently does seem to be a theme in this story.  I’m looking forward to reading more about Jack and seeing how it all turns out in the end.

I’m also looking forward to reading your blogs and having you tell me more about you through your connections.

I’d recommend using sentence starters–especially #’s 1, 4, 10 and perhaps even 16.  Remember to give examples or quotes from what you have read to support what you are saying. You should also give examples from your own life.

Happy Blogging Everyone!

Miss Esselink

Posted on January 27, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great blog!! Superb connection!

    12/12 lol

Leave a Reply

