So many choices…..

It’s all about you this week.  You will have the ultimate power–choice!  I have given you some different options of how you want to complete your blog–(thankfully I didn’t give you as many as were in food picture below.  You’d spend all your time reading the choices and have no time to type.)  Whew.  Only 3 choice today.  So make your choice and type away.  The rest is up to you!

 

 

 

Your choices are:

  • a connection
  • list 2 themes, pick a picture to represent each theme.—Write a short blurb explaining why the picture represents the theme
  • choose 3 sentence starters & answer them 

As usual, tell me the name of your book and the author.  Then, give me a short summary of what the book is about and then make your choice of how you want to respond. So,  how will you complete your blog today?

Here’s my shot at it:

I’ve been reading “Schooled” by Gordon Korman this week.  He is one of my favourite authors and when someone pointed out this book to me I was super excited.   It starts out with the main character Cap (short for Capricorn) being arrested and then unarrested.  It turns out that he lives on a farming commune (is an intentional community of people living together, sharing common interests, property, possessions, resources, work, and income). –Thanks to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commune for the definition.

This story is about how Cap is forced to live with a foster family after his grandmother Rain, falls and breaks her hip.  The worst part about living off the commune is that he now has to go to school rather than be homeschooled by Rain. Could you imagaine if you’ve never heard a school bell or were forced to go to another class just because the time was up even if you weren’t finished or didn’t need to lock up your belongings in a locker because everyone shared everything anyway? Also, Cap is nominated for 8th grade president simply because he’s the weirdest kid there.  (It was a mean trick played on the nerdiest/weirdest kid every year just so the rest of the students could make fun of him/her),  I’m not going to ruin the rest of the  book but if you want to find out what happens next, I’d definitely recommend reading this book!

My choice is to write about a connection I have.  I could honestly not imagine what it would be like to have to leave the only home I’d ever known and go somewhere else.  This must be what it’s like for Cap.  He has only ever lived on the commune with his grandmother and now he’s forced into a world that’s totally different.  Here’s an example from the book of how Cap describes it, “I don’t like it out there.  It’s too crowded. People dress funny; they talk too fast; and they are interested in things! Cell phones and iPods and Game Boys and Starbucks.  What’s a starbuck?”  My closest connection to how I felt like this is when I moved to Quebec where half the time people were speaking French much faster than I could understand.  Even though technically it was still in Canada things were soooo different.  The traffic was HORRIBLE, (it took me over an hour to drive to work every day even though it should have only taken 15 minutes if it wasn’t rush hour). The signs were all in French and some of them I knew but some of them were things I had never seen before-for example, “Circulation fluide”.  I guess it means that things were going smoothly, but I’ve never seen a sign like that in English.  I also had to get used to French customs, the two kisses on the cheek when greeting someone.  (Sometimes I forget I’m back in Alberta where we don’t do that and almost go to do it to but then realize I’d get made fun of).  And you all by now have probably heard me ask you something in French, I can’t help it–the French just comes out first.  🙂  So while it was a bit confusing for me at first, I would say as time went on, I got used to things.  I can only hope the same for Cap!

As always, I look forward to learning a little more about you and what you’ve been reading lately.  Hope that you all have a wonderful long weekend — if it doesn’t rain too much and I’ll see you next week.

Love Miss Esselink

Posted on May 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

