To Blog –that is the answer!

And I’ve got the answer!  It’s time to blog. 🙂 Hopefully you’ve been reading a book or two since the last time we’ve met.  I’ve selected some sentence starters for you to respond to as you think about YOUR book. Tell me what book you are reading, give me a short summary and then scan the list below and choose 3 of these to answer. Please write at least 3 sentences for each one. (That makes at least a minimum of 9 sentences–that’s a paragraph!)  If you are having trouble figuring out what questions to answer, here`s a suggestion:  use a random number generator :

Set your maximum at 14, then click on generate at least 3 times and you`ve got some random questions to answer!

 1. I was surprised when… because…

2. I was confused about… because…

3. I learned the most about the main character (choose one) from: -dialogue -events -other characters -his/her thoughts. Explain your answer

4. This book reminds me of _____________(another book/movie) because…

5. I learned… (something about life or how people get along)

6. Something I learned about how to write is… l learned this from…

7. I didn’t like… because…

8. The setting makes me feel… because…

9. I now understand…

10. If I were __________(character), I would… because…

11. A question I have is… A possible answer is…

12. My favorite section of the book is… because…

13. A question I have for the author is…

14. I would/would not recommend this book because…

 Note: I will mark you for how you explain your answers, so be sure to give examples and details. There is no wrong answer here, but you need to take time to EXPLAIN yourself Can’t wait to read your blog!!

The book I’m reading is called Undergrounders by David Skuy.  It’s about a boy who has lived on the streets since his mom died.  It’s a totally different life! Jonathan is able to “rent” space in an underground abandoned building every night for 50 cents.  He doesn’t go to school anymore and usually he hawks (aka begs) for money during the day to pay his rent and for any food that he might eat that day.  But one day he manages to sneak into the hockey store to get warm and he helps himself to some hockey equipment.  Things sure do get interesting from there!

3.  I learned the most about the main character from his thoughts.  He is continually revealing details about his life in his thoughts.  The author does a good job of this though because it`s only a tiny bit of information rather than over-explaining.  For example, after seeing some guys play hockey, Jonathan thinks to himself, “Weird how I hated hockey now“.  Which obviously suggests at one point that he didn`t hate hockey.  I find that I try to do that when I`m speaking as well. I reveal little bits of information in order to capture people`s attention and continue on with the converstation.  8. The setting makes me feel sorry for Jonathan.  I could not image living underground and wandering around the streets the rest of the time.  I think that it would be very cold and lonely.  I don`t know how he manages to handle being alone and not taking to people all the time in case they turn him into social services.  When I lost my voice and couldn`t talk for 5 days this winter, I was so frustrated.  I clearly need to be around people 🙂 –but perhaps Jonathan doesn`t have that same need.  10.  If I were Jonathan, I don`t think I would survive living basically on my own underground.  I think that I would try to go to Social Services and find someone to help.  I don`t know if it makes a difference in our genders–perhaps he has a problem asking others for help.  I sure don`t ! (For example, think of all the times I`ve had people drive that silly computer cart for me).  Or it`s because of bad run-ins with the law in his past and he doesn`t really trust people.  I`m pretty trusting but I do realize not everyone is. 

And that`s it.  Looking forward to reading your blogs. Have a great weekend.
Love Miss Esselink

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. LOVE the pic at the beginnin!! I may have to steal it and use it as well 🙂 Great blog today, I also love the random number generator thingie.

    Have a amazing weekend!

    Ingrid 🙂

Leave a Reply

