Beauty is not what it seems

Hello fellow bloggers! I am so excited to share with you this week! I wandered into the library asking for something to read and was told, Here, read this.  And so I did.  It was an excellent book.

The story is told from the point of view of a 15 or 16 year old girl named Terra Cooper, who as she says is beautiful

if you saw her from the back, tall, skinny gorgeous hair but from the front you notice she has a large port wine birthmark on her cheek.

If you’ve never seen one  those before, the picture below is from a girl who also has one

(http://www.loveyourmark.com/lindsey.html)

Terra covers her mark up with a tonne of make-up in order to hide from the world.  She has tried

many surgeries but none of them seemed to have worked and then her dad puts his foot down and says he isn’t going to pay for any more surgeries.  Throughout the story Terra has to contend with her disfunctional family.  She is trying to find true beauty but takes an interesting  journey to get there that eventually leads her all the way to China.  She meets some good people, including a friend named Jacob, along the way, and hurts some people,namely her boyfriend Erik– (she’s not perfect—which I really liked about her), but in the end discovers more about who she really is and how she too has made some wrong  judgements about who people are.  I’ll  admit it, I cried near the end because I was so amazed at how both she and her mother had changed during the story.

For your connection today, I would like you to pick between the following options

1.  Write about the part that shocked you the most about the story.  Why did it shock you and can you make a connection to your own life?

2.  Write about which character you would like to have as a friend and why.

I was totally shocked at the way that her father was so negative in the book.  And when he told her that she could not go to the art school that she managed to get into but was only going to pay for her to go the college he graduated from, my mouth literally dropped open.  I mean, I have disagreements with my parents but I could not believe how MEAN he was.  As the book went on, it explained that he had a lot of disappointment in his life and it seems as if he took it out on others but it made me very grateful for loving parents and friends.What I did like was that he changed near the end of book (a teeny tiny bit) when the mom finally stood up to him.  And it made me realize that sometimes small actions can have big results.  Like smiling at another person, or being kind to a sibling –I know, that’s a hard one for me too.

2.  I would love to have Jacob for a friend.  He accepts Terra for who she is and is encouraging about her art abilities.  He is kind and just wants to hang out with her and get to know her better. He also is not afraid to say what he’s thinking and makes her feel safe.  I like friends like that 🙂 I have had many friends over my lifetime (mostly, because I’ve been many places) b

ut it is great to have that one friend that really “gets you”.  I also appreciated how he saw her scar.  Near the end of the book he says, I don’t even see your scar anymore and that makes me sad.  I think he says this because all of our scars whether physical or emotional make up who we are and we need to realize that rather than simply ignoring them because they give our actions meaning.  For example, I have a friend who doesn’t like germs and isn’t really a hugg-y person.  However, once when I was having a bad day, she reached out and hugged me and it was great! It really meant something —and it helped me to know she cared.

So, how about you? Tell me about your book and then pick either option 1 or 2 for your connection.  Can’t wait to read them!

Miss Esselink

Posted on February 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

